- Advertisement -

New Line-up for Johor

- Advertisement -New Line-up for Johor

Image Credit: Royal Press Office (RPO)

Datuk Dr Sahruddin Jamal takes office as the 17th Menteri Besar of Johor

The guessing game came to an end last week with the announcement of Bukit Kepong assemblyman Dr Sahruddin Jamal as the 17th Menteri Besar of Johor after the resignation of Datuk Osman Sapian.

In a press conference held after the swearing in ceremony, the newly minted Menteri Besar indicated that a revamp of the state executive council was on the cards.

On 22nd of April, another swearing in ceremony was held before His Majesty Sultan Ibrahim Ibni Almarhum Sultan Iskandar at Istana Bukit Serene. In the ceremony, the Sultan conferred the Menteri Besar with an award that will grant the latter the title of Datuk.

Datuk Dr Sahruddin then announced the new line-up of Excos and their portfolios at a media conference at the Johor Menteri Besar’s Office.

The two Excos who were dropped from the old line-up were Tan Hong Ping, who held the Local Government, Science and Technology portfolio, and Mazlan Bujang, the former Public Works, Infrastructure and Transportation Committee Exco.

The new Exco members are Jementah assemblyman Tan Chen Choon of DAP, Tenang assemblyman Mohd Solihan Badri of Parti Pribumi Besatu Malaysia (Bersatu) and Bukit Permai assemblyman Tosrin Jarvanthi also from Bersatu.

Datuk Dr Sahruddin said the changes in the Exco line-up received the consent from the Sultan of Johor, Sultan Ibrahim Sultan Iskandar.

As part of the restructuring, the Menteri Besar will now head the Natural Resources, Administration, Finance, Planning and Economic Development Committee. Aminolhuda, who was the Islamic Affairs and Education Committee Exco, will now hold the Education, Human Resources, Science and Technology portfolio. Dzulkefly, who previously held the Housing and Rural Development portfolio, is now the Housing, Communication and Multimedia Committee Exco.

Mohd Khuzzan, who was previously the Youth, Sports and Culture Committee Exco, now holds the Health, Culture and Heritage portfolio while Sheikh Omar Ali, the former Entrepreneur Development, Cooperative and Creative Economy Committee Exco, now heads the Youth, Sports, Entrepreneur Development and Cooperative portfolio.

Former Consumerism, Human Resources and Unity Committee Exco Dr S Ramakrishnan now holds the Unity, Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs portfolio while Liow Cai Tung who previously held the Women Development and Tourism portfolio now holds the Tourism and Women, Family and Community Development portfolio. Jimmy Puah, the state International Trade, Investment and Utilities Committee Exco’s portfolio remains unchanged.

The new appointee Solihan is the Public Works, Transportation and Infrastructure Committee Exco, Tosrin as Islamic Affairs, Agriculture and Rural Development Committee Exco and Chen Choon as the Local Government, Urban Wellbeing and Environment Committee Exco.

Sahruddin also expressed his gratitude to Mazlan and Hong Pin for their contributions as state Exco members.

Latest news

Related news

Join us in Telegram for more news and updates.
Join us in Telegram for more news and updates.